Book Reviews

Book Review – What Happens in New York: Two friends. One life-changing vacation. by Kristina Adams

Hollie can’t catch a break. She’s broke, she’s back living with her family, and her career prospects are zero. So when the chance arises for her and her best friend to escape to New York, well, she can hardly say no, can she?

Little does she realise the charming stunt performer she just met is about to introduce her to Hollywood royalty. But are the Hollywood elite really who they claim to be, or is there more to their stories than they let on?

Find out what happens next in the sassy, seductive debut perfect for fans of Paige Toon, Sophie Kinsella, and Marian Keyes.

I loved this book, I read it more or less in a day. As the blurb says it is very similar in style to reading Sophia Kinsella, the characters are in the main likeable but each has their baggage and just like real-life friends occasionally you wish you could reach in and give them a good shake. Their frailties are relatable, and when they are thrust into the spotlight you can imagine that the way they are portrayed is pretty much true to their characters. The elite are also a mix of complex personalities, the drug use and excesses of celebrity lifestyles are touched on but do not take over the plot allowing for a nice balance of normality, drama and extravagance that creates an enjoyable, fun read that leaves you wanting more.

I really recommend this as either a summer beach read or for a cosy winter evening book to curl up with just be warned they are not on KU and you will want to read the next one straight away. I give this book 5 out of five shiny gold stars.

3d rendering of 5 gold stars
Book Reviews

Book Review: Lust: Lavinia Urban’s Seven Deadly Sins Series by Lavinia Urban (Goodreads Author), Rene Folsom

Throughout December I am going to try to post a review each day to catch up on some of the books I have read this year!

Plentiful. Enjoyable. Disposable.

Women were like toys to me, and I wasn’t at all ashamed to say so. I worked hard and deserved to enjoy my possessions. Those who discredited me for my attitude didn’t know a thing about life or how to live it.

Money. Motorcycles. Women.

They were all possessions in my eyes, and I had no shame in taking what I wanted when I wanted it. Even though I wasn’t stupid, I usually spat caution in the wind when it came to sweeties. It wasn’t like anything would ever go beyond the first night.

Of course, leave it to Alexina to derail everything I thought I knew.

***

ATTENTION: Lavinia Urban had a vision to write this series, yet her life was taken from her all too soon after a heart-wrenching battle with Metastatic Breast Cancer. Aside from her family’s welfare, her last wish was for her friends to continue these stories about The Seven Deadly Sins. With her husband’s well wishes, seven authors banded together to bring Lavinia Urban’s Seven Deadly Sins Series to her fans and readers everywhere. All proceeds will go to Lavinia’s loving husband and adorable children. May she rest in peace with the knowledge we will never forget her.

I put my hands up before I start, reading these books was one of the hardest things I have ever done, Lavinia was a friend and an author I respected, I had to suppress any emotions I may have had regarding the fact she did not get to write these stories herself.

Rene Folsom was a new author to me but I thoroughly enjoyed this story and am looking forward to reading more from her. The characters are well written, and it is easy to identify with two people not looking for love but meeting a person who should be all wrong for them but ends up being so right. These books are more along the lines of short stories/novellas, so I consider it natural for the story to be a little faster paced than you might wish for but that is in part down to the amazing effort made by these amazing authors to honour Lavinia’s wishes and finish this series for her.

Most of the authors seem to have used characters from their own series, spun off into this collection, so not only does that make these stories worth reading in their own right, but also as an introduction to a whole new series of books if you enjoy the writer’s style.

I would have been absolutely devasted if I had not been about to give this full marks but I have no qualms hitting 5 out of five stars for this first book in the series.

3d rendering of 5 gold stars
Book Reviews · Monday Musings

Book Review – The Runaway And The Russian By Helen Bright

 

 

When her best friend goes missing after being targeted by child groomers, Tess Robertson feels she has no choice but to run away.

Fearing for her life, Tess leaves the children’s home where she’s resided for the past eighteen months, and boards a train bound for the capital.

While wandering the streets of London, Tess realises she’s being followed, causing her to run once again, straight into the path of a bullet meant for arms dealer, Kolya Barinov.

While Tess recovers, Kolya vows to keep her safe: to give her a good life in return for saving his.

But is this simply swapping one danger for another? Or could the path to true happiness begin with blood and bullets?

I actually thought I had already reviewed this book but apparently not so let me remedy that situation.

I love this book, first, let me set aside I know the author and hugely respect her, for both her writing and as a person, so I would never insult her by being less than honest. The characters are interesting and each individual in terms of personality and back story. The initial chapters dealing with Tess being targetted by child groomers sadly resonate all too well given I live in an area that has just seen over twenty men and two women prosecuted in very similar circumstances to that in this plot.  I would also suggest anyone wanting to learn more about the inspiration for the start of this series watch the BBC series Three Girls which is available on i-Player and Netflix.

As the story progresses you watch as Tess learns to trust and rebuild a new life despite the constant fear that her past will catch up with her.

This is the first part of a trilogy and I am not going to lie you will want the second part ready for when you finish this.

I have reread this book twice waiting for the next part, I give this a resounding 5 out of five stars.

3d rendering of 5 gold stars

If you want to find out more about the author you can find her on

Facebook 

Goodreads

Or her website

 

Fact Vs Fiction

Table For One Read from Disintegration & Other Stories

https://www.podbean.com/media/share/pb-8vg2u-c15867

This week I read a short story from my first collection released Disintergration& Other Stories available on Amazon and to read for free in Kindle Unlimited for the month of October.

Fact Vs Fiction

First Bite of the Cherry

https://www.podbean.com/media/share/pb-bbvq8-bf93d6

This week I read my first real published work, this was a short story in the charity anthology Lupus Animus and titled Acceptance. if you want to read the book for yourself the link is mybook.to/LupusAnimus